Mailing List

Sign up now to get a free copy of the first single, "In the Garden", along with an exclusive bonus-track "campfire version". You don't want to miss it. 

Join the Community!

* indicates required


Stream “In the Garden”

Little TVs

Matt Lenny & The Breakdown

The creation of this album was a lifeline and an outlet for all 4 of us during this past, unprecedented year. Unlike our normal process of rehearsals and studio time as a group, 5 of these 6 tunes were written, arranged, and recorded without us all ever being in the same room together. There are a lot of days when I hate what the internet and
The creation of this album was a lifeline and an outlet for all 4 of us during this past, unprecedented year. Unlike our normal process of rehearsals and studio time as a group, 5 of these 6 tunes were written, arranged, and recorded without us all ever being in the same room together. There are a lot of days when I hate what the internet and computers have done to our society, but it's truly amazing that we were able to make a record like this in our homes.

If you've been taking this pandemic seriously, you can probably relate to the sense of isolation and the almost palpable nostalgia for simple gatherings and good times gone past. This EP is, in some senses, our "quarantunes" EP, but it's also a meditation on human connection: the ways a simple friendship can make all the difference, the ways we're too afraid to pursue it, the ways we fail each other completely.

Finally, we want to dedicate the last track, "Fountain of Youth" to the one and only Mark "Mouse" Brunner. Mouse was a friend of the band, an incredible musician, and a fabulous recording engineer with a spirit and a sense of humor that uplifted anyone around him. We recorded this song in his studio back in 2014 and just never got around to releasing it properly.

Recording your own music is sorta like giving yourself a haircut: you never quite have a clear perspective on what you're doing. We'd all gathered at Mouse's studio, gotten sounds, and were all set to record. We counted off and did one take of "Fountain of Youth". We got done and I remember saying, "I think we can do better than that." Mouse laughed out loud and yelled out, "You're f**king crazy! There is no possible way you can rock harder than that!"

Reader, he was correct. We did a few more takes and none of them had the spirit of that first take. I hope I've done it justice in the final mix, but we were all together in a place and time. In one room. Making music and making fun of each other. No masks, no real cares for a few hours. Making something uniquely human and never to be repeated exactly the same again. Hanging out. Rocking out. (A silly thing on paper, but it sure as hell has meant a lot to my life.)

Moments like that sure do feel far away right now, but we'll get there again. It'll never be exactly the same, but what ever is?

R.I.P., Mouse. This one's for you and for anyone and everyone else missing someone or something they love. Laptops and phones are great, but all these "Little TVs" don't quite make up for the real thing...
Read more…
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6


This is a playlist of live performances, both solo acoustic and with the band. I'll keep adding it to it as we collect more and better video.



Join us for the Chicago edition of our For the Birds record release party! We'll be sharing the night with some fabulous bands and we couldn't be more excited to celebrate this album at Montrose Saloon. Not only is it a great sounding room and one of our favorite places to play, but they're also darn nice people over there. What's not to like?!

Come on out, celebrate with us, and grab your copy of For the Birds before it hits the interwebs the next day!


$10 / 21+


Sunndog /10 Nectarous /9 Matt Lenny and the Breakdown / 8 Jesus Coyote /7



Join us at one of Southwest Michigan's truly unique music venues, The Box Factory for the Arts in St. Joseph, to help us celebrate the release of our new record, "For the Birds". Even better, we'll be joined that evening by Michigan's own Americana darling, Kait Rose and her fabulous band. It's gonna be a night to remember!



Matt Lenny is a guitarist, songwriter and singer born of Bowie and Muddy Waters. Whether playing solo acoustic or with his full band The Breakdown, his powerful songs are both lyrically rich and immediately accessible, driven by rock hooks and country blues licks.

Matt grew up in Connecticut where he obsessively listened to Led Zeppelin cassettes, but it wasn’t until he moved to Tulsa at age 15 that he started playing guitar. Although he felt out of place at the conservative churches of his new home, he found solace in guitar, which he learned through his youth group. Ironically, it was not country or gospel music that seeped in during his time in the Bible belt, it was experimental rock and pop music. 

“You would have thought that I would learn about country music in Oklahoma,” Matt laughs. “Instead I discovered Radiohead, Spoon and T. Rex. Years later, I moved to New York to become a rock star and fell in love with country music.” 

Matt moved to New York City after living in Chicago, playing in a couple bands and graduating from Northwestern University with a degree in Poetry and Creative Writing. “I just really fell in love with New York on a visit,” Matt says. “I actually moved there to take a break from  music. I was sorta feeling like it was going nowhere and that I wanted a change. So, my plan was to move and look for a job at a non-profit or something, but I needed something in the interim and the only job offer that came through was at Matt Umanov Guitars.” 

He began working at the world-famous guitar shop in Greenwich Village, where he’d regularly see a who’s who of musical talent – including PeteTownsend, Patti Smith, Bjork, Ben Harper, Rosanne Cash, Gillian Welch, David Rawlings and Led Zeppelin’s John Paul Jones – who would come in to buy guitars and have their instruments repaired while they were in town. He even started giving guitar lessons to Minnie Driver and Dashboard Confessional’s Chris Carrabba. But one visitor changed everything for him. 

“I was sitting in the shop and in walks Steve Earle,” Matt says. “He picked up an acoustic guitar and just started strumming some chords. And…I don’t know how to put it except to say that, when he played G and C, it was every country song ever written. When I played G and C, it was just a couple of chords. But, when he did it, it was deep; it had soul and groove and power. It really blew my mind. I’d been touring the country with all these loud rock bands and had all these fancy guitar chops, but he had the song in every strum. I’ve been chasing that ever since.” 

Matt moved back to Chicago and started a new band called The Breakdown, including some of his oldest friends like Dave Mendez (electric guitar, dobro, vocals), Erik Vaveris (bass, vocals) and David Jamison, who was the touring drummer for Hurray for the Riff Raff. Since then the band has grown in size and sound, releasing four albums. Their new album For the Birds, features this core group along with Bucky Hayes (acoustic guitar, vocals), Bryan Trenis (piano, Hammond, Rhodes, acoustic guitar, vocals), Sonny Ratcliff (banjo), Anthony Gravino (percussion, guitar) and guest vocalists Laura Neuroth and Kait Rose. 

Now living in Michigan, Matt continues to pursue that powerful simplicity, with a full band and as a solo singer-songwriter. The resulting music is somewhere on the rock and roll side of Americana with simple chord changes and melodies married to heartfelt emotions and old-fashioned storytelling. 

When not making music, Matt loves spending time with his family and doing Taekwondo with his kid.